Finding My Prince

Is Love Meant For Me?

nancy
4 min readSep 23, 2024
Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Lately, I came across a TikTok trend where women showcased snippets of their chats with loved ones. It all started with, “No one could handle your words of affirmation,” and as I went through the images, I found myself tearing up, realizing how deeply people can love each other, and how some share a bond so sincere it feels overwhelming.

As someone whose primary love language is words of affirmation, I recognize the profound impact words can have; they can uplift or harm with such ease. This experience got me thinking: What did these individuals do to earn such love? What have they endured that led to such a beautiful return? At what cost does one receive love like that? And what does it truly feel like to be loved?

Genuinely. Wholeheartedly. Completely.

I’m not well-acquainted with those emotions. I can’t recall the last time someone loved me to that extent, as I’m often in the position of giving love rather than receiving it. While I’ve been in relationships before, I’ve never experienced that flutter of excitement that many describe. This raises a question: Was I genuinely loved then? Or was the excitement merely one-sided? Who truly felt unrequited love, and was I simply pitied for appearing so vulnerable?

--

--

nancy

Spina bifida survivor, college student, learn, laugh, and love. SIMPLY ENJOY LIFE!