I Own It

And I Am Proud

nancy
2 min readSep 24, 2024
Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

Disability, frequently seen as a challenge, is truly a blessing that arrives in an alternative packaging. It’s akin to possessing a covert ability that, once comprehended and embraced, can brighten the world in a manner that others may not perceive. It is a distinct perspective from which people can observe and engage with their surroundings, providing a multitude of surprising capabilities and benefits.

Here are some convincing reasons why disability should be embraced rather than perceived as a obstacle: As a person who has conquered the obstacles of disability to attain such extraordinary accomplishment, I remind myself daily that I am genuinely a source of motivation because I comprehend how difficult it can be. My experience proves that with perseverance, effort, and the appropriate assistance, people with dyslexia can overcome challenges and achieve great success.

I transformed what some may perceive as a drawback into a motivating factor for my achievements, leveraging my distinct viewpoint to maneuver through the realms of language and mathematics. My accomplishments serve as a strong indication that disability does not determine intelligence or potential, but rather represents an alternate method of information processing. It’s a component of my identity! I trust that my account can serve as a guiding light for individuals with dyslexia who…

--

--

nancy

Spina bifida survivor, college student, learn, laugh, and love. SIMPLY ENJOY LIFE!